Institute News

Prof. Rachel Swarns has been elected to the Society of American Historians

Swarns was selected “in recognition of the narrative power and scholarly distinction” of her work. The Society, which is based at Columbia University, identifies and celebrates distinguished historical writing and is made up of scholars, public historians, journalists and independent writers.

Celebrated documentary filmmaker Nanfu Wang will join the faculty at NYU’s Journalism Institute starting Fall 2023

Wang has won the MacArthur Genius Grant, two Peabody Awards, a George Polk Award, and was shortlisted for three Academy Awards. She will teach courses, including a new one on Reporting in Closed Societies, and advise graduate students as a Distinguished Writer In Residence.

AJO Adjunct Professor Claire Tighe Produced a Podcast That Took Second in the 89th Annual National Headliner Awards

The podcast, Unsealed: The Tylenol Murders, was created by the Chicago Tribune. The Headliner Awards recognizes journalistic achievement in the Communications Industry.

NYU Journalism announces 2023 Award Winners

These honors are a testament to their tremendous talent, hard work and dedication to journalism.

NYU Journalism Alumna Katia Patin is Chosen for FASPE Ethics Fellowship

Patin is one of 14 journalism students chosen for the 2023 Journalism Program of the Fellowships at Auschwitz for the Study of Professional Ethics (FASPE).

The Launch for Rachel Swarns’ Forthcoming Book, The 272: The Families Who Were Enslaved and Sold to Build the American Catholic Church, Will Take Place on Monday, June 12 at 7pm at the Strand.

She will be in conversation with Edward Ball, the National Book Award-winning author of Slaves in the Family and Life of a Klansman.

Prof. Pamela Newkirk elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The Academy, founded in 1780, honors exceptional scholars elected through an extensive process, and sponsors academic research endeavors. Newkirk was elected to Class V – Leadership, Policy, and Communications, under Section 1 - Journalism, Media, and Communications.

NYU Journalism Major Jules Roscoe Won 15th Place in the Multimedia Digital News/Enterprise Story (Individual) Competition of the Hearst Awards

Their story, The Year of the Union, ran in Cooper Squared. This […]

Carter Journalism Institute Names Adam Willis Winner of Matthew Power Literary Reporting Award

Willis, the Award’s Ninth Recipient, will focus on solutions to climate change in the American Midwest.

Distinguished Writer in Residence Salman Rushdie to Receive Presidential Medal at NYU’s 2023 Commencement

The awards will be presented on May 17th, 2023, to honor "[Rushdie's] literary mastery and his courage in sustaining the principle of the free exchange of ideas in the face of threats and grievous physical attacks." (src:

NYU Journalism Undergraduate Edward Franco Cracked the Top 20 List of the Hearst Awards Television News Winners

NYU Journalism undergraduate Edward Franco received 17th place in the Television News […]

Eat Bitter, A Film Co-Written & Produced by NewsDoc Alum Mathieu Faure, Is Having its World Premiere Next Week.

Read More in the Post.