Hearst Journalism Awards Program

Hearst Journalism Awards

Don’t miss your chance to win the “Pulitzer Prize of college journalism.”

Participation in the program is open to undergraduate journalism majors. An exception to the journalism major rule is made for students entering the photojournalism competitions.

A few thoughts on how to enter the Hearst Competitions:

​NYU Journalism Career Services will accept all applications and select the top two entries​ in each category​ to be submitted ​to Hearst.

​Below is the Competition Calendar with NYU Journalism’s in-house deadlines. We will send out separate reminders for each category.

W​riting Competitions Deadline

  • Feature Writing – Monday, 10/22/18
  • Enterprise Reporting -​ ​​Monday,12/3/18
  • Sports Writing – Monday, 1/28/19
  • Personality/Profile Writing – ​Monday, 3/4/19
  • Breaking News Writing – Monday, 4/8/19

​Photojournalism Competitions Deadline

  • Photo News and Feature – ​​Monday, ​10/29/18
  • Photo Picture Story/Series – ​Monday, 2/4/19

Broadcast Competitions Deadline

  • Television I: Features – ​​Monday, 11/5/18
  • Radio: News and Features – Monday, 1/7/19
  • Television II: News – ​​Monday, 2/11/19

Multimedia Competitions Deadline

  • Features​ ​- Monday, ​11/19/18
  • News​ – Monday, 1/14/19
  • Enterprise​ – Monday, 2/25/19
  • Team Reporting – News​ ​​- Monday, 4/1/19

For more information, visit the Hearst Journalism Awards website.

Substantial scholarship increases to students and universities were added to the program for the 2017-2018 school year. Representing an increase of nearly 50 percent, more than $650,000 will be provided annually in scholarships, grants and stipends to participating and winning journalism students and accredited journalism undergraduate universities.

NYU Journalism students interested in submitting work for any of these should email

Previous NYU Hearst Journalism Award Winners


Téa Kvetenadze (9th Place, Breaking News Writing)


Kelvin Huang (6th Place, Sports Writing)
Mariana Fernandez (7th Place, Enterprise Reporting)
Josephine Marie Luck ​(10th Place, Television Features)


Devon​ Frye ​(6th place, Enterprise Reporting)


Cassia Reynolds (2nd Place, Television I)
Eli Epstein​ (5th Place, Feature Writing)


Elizabeth Kreutz​ ​(6th Place, Multimedia)


Benjamin Norman​ (10th Place, Photo I)
Nicole Tung​​ (3rd Place, Photo III)
Nicole Tung​ (8th Place, Championships Photo Semi-Final)


Stacey Patton​​ ​(5th Place, Feature Writing)


Stacey Patton​ (1st Place, Feature Writing)
Stacey Patton​ (4th Place, Championship Writing)


Jennifer Gustin (5th Place, Television I)
Jennifer Gustin​ (10th Place, Championship Television Semi-final)


Brian Wright​ (9th Place, Sports Writing)


Scott Wenger​ (4th Place, In-Depth Writing)


George Wirt​ (8th Place, Spot News Writing)


Nathan Kleinfield​ (3rd Place, Championship Writing)
John McKeon (2nd Place, General News Writing)
George Wirt​ (6th Place, General News Writing)


Nathan Kleinfield (3rd Place, General News Writing)
Nathan Kleinfield (4th Place, Feature Writing)
Colleen Sullivan​ (8th Place, General News Writing)