2020 Winner

Maria Danilova

Maria Danilova (Photo by Iurii Konstantinov)

2020 Winner: Maria Danilova

The winner of the sixth annual Matthew Power Literary Reporting Award is Maria Danilova. Danilova, who covered Russia and the former Soviet republics as a reporter for the Associated Press, is based in Washington, DC. Born in Moscow, she holds a bachelor’s degree in linguistics from Moscow State University, a master’s in political science from Central European University and a master’s in journalism from Columbia University, where she was a Knight-Bagehot Fellow in economics and business journalism. Danilova was also a winner of the Alicia Patterson Foundation fellowship where she worked on a series of stories about women activists in Russia. She speaks five languages. Danilova will use the grant from the Matthew Power Literary Reporting Award to research and write a long-form article about health care in Russia.

Dan Xin Huang

Dan Xin Huang (Photo by Chris Jones)

2020 Runner-up: Dan Xin Huang

The runner-up of the 2020 Matthew Power Literary Reporting Award is Dan Xin Huang. Based in Washington, D.C., Dan Xin Huang has reported from China and Central Asia, and his work has appeared in Foreign Affairs, Guernica, The New Republic, Pacific Standard, and The Village Voice. He previously worked as a reporter for The Wall Street Journal in New York. Huang will use his award to research and write a story about education and class in the Midwest.

The $12,500 annual award was established to commemorate Matthew Power, a wide-roving and award-winning journalist who reported empathetically on the human condition. Matt died in March 2014, while on assignment in Uganda. An endowment fund has been established to make the award possible in perpetuity. To date, more than 650 friends, family, and journalism colleagues have contributed. Please join them by donating via Crowdrise.

Over 90 applications were received for this year’s award. NYU’s Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute hosts and administers the award. Applications for next year’s competition will open in November 2020.